Skip navigation

When I started my journey back into comic art earlier in the year, I wanted to find tools that would help me create art in the environment I’m familiar with in the digital world. That search led me to Sketchbook Pro, a light weight art program that was the extremely easy and intuitive to use. It offered the most natural drawing experience with art tools that are common and react to the real world. I instantly fell in love and start drawing late into the night! Although not as expansive and detailed as other popular art programs, SBP is quick and requires a small learning curve . . . just pick up the pen and draw.

Now don’t get me wrong, I still pick up my pencil and scribble on post-it notes every once and awhile. But I love how I can experiment and really explore with SBP without the chunks of eraser all over my art board or lead smears from my hand. It really has helped me grow with confidence as an artist from where I was just a few short months ago. The other big positive I get from it is communication. Whether concepting ideas or working on finishing inks, with a quick save and an email, I’m discussing my art with collaborators from all over the world.

To increase my communication with the comic community, I created a twitter account. For any aspiring artist, I highly suggest doing so. The amount of knowledge that is posted each day from artists, fans, and publishers is abundant and priceless. This where the fine folks at the Sketchbook Pro Product Division of Autodesk contacted me to find out more of my artwork and how SBP plays in that role. After numerous conversations, it was apparent that they really do care about the artist and how to help them express their art. This is where they asked me to discuss my outlook on creating comic art and my background of graphic design. If you get a chance, download the trial and give it a try (and if you have any questions, I’ll do my best to answer). I really look forward to seeing how they improve this creative and fun to use software.

Designer Spotlight: Matt Zolman
Sketchbook Pro
Matt Zolman Twitter
Sketchbook Pro Twitter

One Comment

  1. well written man. Can you re-link to the “Designer Spotlight: Matt Zolman” article? Can’t seem to get to that post, but I wanna read it!


Leave a comment